Security Consultant Certificate of Competence

Security Technicians, Security Consultants and Private Investigators

The PSPLA works to ensure that all people working in the security industry have the proper skills to undertake the categories of work they are licensed for. To work as a private investigator, security technician or security consultant, you must show that you are either:

  • trained
  • getting training
  • competent (have the skills you need).

You need to supply evidence to support your application for each of these classes of work. Evidence of competency for these classes has been required since July 2016 so even if you already hold a licence or certificate, if it was issued before July 2016 you will be asked to supply evidence. You will only need to supply this evidence once.  Next time you renew your licence, the Authority will already have it on file.

Evidence includes, but is not limited to:

Security Consultants – Security Consultant Certificate of Competence

Security Technicans – Evidence that you are an accredited member of the New Zealand Security Association

Private Investigator – Evidence that you are an accredited member of the New Zealand Security Association


The Security Consultant Certificate of Competence is being delivered by Stratcom Security.

The course consists of three modules and five assessments:

  • Module 1:  Security Risk Management – this module has two assessments
  • Module 2:  Operational Requirements – this module as two assessments
  • Module 3:  Security Related Standards and Legislation – this module as one assessment

This course is undertaken in your own time, there are no classes to attend, and the assessments are emailed in for marking.

For more information on this course and to register your interest please visit Stratcom’s website here.



The New Zealand Certificate in Electrotechnology (Level 3).

This certificate course has been updated to be more versatile and fit for purpose.  In collaboration with industry, the new qualification has been modernised, taking into account the new technologies in the market.  This course has now integrated recommended pre-learning unit standards giving learners a well-rounded education.

The qualification is still based on on-job and off-job assessments.  Each assessment has been reviewed and, where possible, made into a smaller, more manageable format.

Those who have chosen to complete the Service strand will also complete the Electrical Workers Registration Board’s Electrical Appliance Serviceperson (endorsed) exam.

Further study:

Once learners have completed the NZC in Electrotechnology (Level 3) they can choose to continue onto one of four different strands.

  • New Zealand Certificate in Electronic Security (Level 4)
  • New Zealand Certificate in Electrical Engineering (Electrical and Electronic Installation and Service) (Level 4)
  • New Zealand Certificate in Electronic Engineering (Level 4)
  • New Zealand Certificate in Customer Premise Systems (Level 4)

For more information you can view the following documents:

Electronic Security Programme L3- v3

Info Sheet – NZC Electrotechnology L3- NZSA

Electrotech – Qualification changes


For enquiries, please contact:

Carine Vaccari

022 568 6671