2020 NZ Security Awards – Finalists announced

We are thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2020 New Zealand Security Awards.

Today is International Security Officers’ Day (24 July or 24/7) so it is very appropriate that we announce the finalists on the same day that we recognise the fantastic contribution and commitment of the 25,000 licensed security staff in New Zealand, and in particular, the performance of security personnel through the recent Covid-19 lock-down.

Several categories only received a small number of nominations, in a couple of cases only one. However the judges still review each nomination on its merits and if they score highly, then an award is given. A low number of nominees in a category does not detract in any way from the quality of the finalists and the eventual winner.

Congratulations to all 111 of the nominees and good luck to the finalists. We’ll see you at the awards at 5pm on Friday 7th August. We will send out a link to the live stream site a week prior to the event.

Cash Services Professional of the Year
Ben Carr – Armourguard Security
Mark Jeffery – Armourguard Security
Rosie North – Armourguard Security

Communication Centre Operator of the Year
Avaayah Tito – Red Badge Group
Jeremy Horne – Alarm Watch Ltd
Sarah Tipping – Electra Services Ltd trading as SECURELY

Customer Champion of the Year
Dee Wakelin – Red Badge Group
Geoff Stone – Armourguard Security
Georgina Crawford – FIRST Security

Design and Support Electronic Sector Professional of the Year
Britta Offergeld – Advanced Security Group
Daniel King – Nelson Alarms and Security
Matt Collins – Advanced Security Group

Electronic Trainee of the Year
Daniel O’Connor – Alliance Fire & Security
Mikee McLeod – Advanced Security Group
Taina Hetet – Red Wolf High Level Security

Guarding Sector Trainee of the Year
Eric Cilicewa – Secureflight Ltd
Teressa Sykes – Armourguard Security
Vicky Roberts – Red Badge Group

Install and Service Electronic Sector (Corporate) Technician of the Year
Blair Courtier – Advanced Security Group

Install and Service Electronic Sector (SME) Technician of the Year
Zane Stephenson – Alliance Fire & Security

Michael Pepper Award for Outstanding Security Training Initiative
Advanced Security Group
Hard Target
Secureflight Ltd and Stratcom Security

Outstanding New Product or Service of the Year
Bespoke Security Group
Gallagher Proximity and Contact Training Report

Outstanding Skills for Industry Employee of the Year
Knikita Tarawa – Red Badge Group

Outstanding Staff Retention/Staff Development Programme
Advanced Security Group
Secureflight Ltd

Patrol Officer of the Year
Michael McCormack – Matrix Security Group Ltd
Sheena O’Brien – Armourguard Security
Timothy Cummings – FIRST Security

Security Administrator of the Year
Darlene Clark – Secureflight Ltd
Sabrina Crowe – Red Badge Group
Yegeshnie Chetty – Advanced Security Group

Security Consultant of the Year
Andy Gollings – Red Badge Group
Jo Lloyd – ICARAS Consultants
Scott Carter – Matrix Security Group Ltd

Security Integrator of the Year
Daniel King – Nelson Alarms and Security
Mark Chessum – Advanced Security Group
Shanan Marsden – Alliance Fire & Security

Security Officer of the Year
Anton Kritzinger – Armourguard Security
Edith Swetman – Matrix Security Group Ltd
Phoenix Witehira – Millennium Services Group

Security Supervisor/Operations Manager of the Year
Colin Norman – FIRST Security
Neil McKinlay – Armourguard Security
Simon Ward – Red Badge Group

Security Trainer or Workplace Assessor of the Year
Ben Kingi – ACT New Zealand
Jennifer Burne – Armourguard Security
Jeremy Peake – Advanced Security Group

Visionary Leadership Award
Blair Malcolm – Recon Security
Hayden George – Advanced Security Group
Ken McKenzie – Tamaki Paenga Hira Auckland War Memorial Museum

Once again, congratulations to all the finalists!

For the full list of nominees please see our website.

The NZSA team.